Signed, a strong woman that doesn’t take shit from anyone….

Let me preface this with a disclaimer: I rarely jump on the bandwagon of current events, mostly because I rarely know what the heck is going on in the news, unless it affects the cattle market or my day-to-day life.  I am a believer that we all have the right to our opinions, to share our feelings, and the right to stick up for our own beliefs and values….but I feel like I need to share my feelings about being an American woman. If you are tired of hearing about any of it, please feel free to stop reading right now. If you agree, feel free to share.

I make my own choices.

That’s right…. I am a woman, and I don’t let other people tell me what to do. Just ask my husband and my dad what happens when they try!

I have made choices, on my own, that have affected where and who I am today.

I chose to raise cattle in 4-H, and chose not to get involved in the political and people portion of 4-H. I chose to go to college out of state and study Equine sciences, rather than stay in my hometown and study business like the other girls in my class.

I chose to say yes when my boyfriend proposed, and chose to get married at the ripe old age of twenty. Because I wanted to. Not because I was knocked up. Not to spite my parents, and certainly not because I wanted a sugar daddy.

I chose to work two jobs at the same time and go back to college after we got married. Because I felt I needed to.

I have chosen to ride bucking colts, and have hit the ground more times than I can count.

I have worked in retail, worked in banking, worked in technology and communications. I have worked in veterinary clinics, shoveled shit, and been attacked by people’s “pets”. And in everyone of those jobs, my boss was a man. And some were shitty bosses. Some were real jerks, but I still went to work and did my job. I respected my bosses, no matter how much I disagreed with them at times. They made me tougher, not a victim.

I chose to buy a car on my own because my husband was unavailable to do it for me.

I choose to bake, because it makes people happy. I choose to cuss, because it releases my stress.

I choose to drink beer and eat food and eat cake because I can.

I choose to worship God, because I don’t believe we were put on this planet to work, pay bills, and die.

I read the Bible, I read historical westerns, and sometimes I even read smutty romance novels.

I watch Ice Road Truckers, and Disney movies, and spaghetti westerns.

I am a Republican, but admit that I voted for a Democratic governor.

I am a woman, and I voted for Trump.

I am a daughter, a wife, a mother. And I voted for Trump.

And you know what? That doesn’t make me any better or worse than anyone else.

I wear Victoria’s Secret, but you can bet it will remain hidden under a pair of jeans and a t-shirt.

I am not going to stand beside women that think the only way they can gain the respect of a man is by showing her vagina in public, fabric or otherwise. I will not stand beside women that tear men down purely because they choose to play the victim card. I will not stand alongside any woman that won’t let a man open a door for her, yet complains that men won’t hold a door open for her.

Women were made by God to stand beside men. Not behind, not in front, but alongside them. Get a little dirt under your fingers. Get outside. Do something with your time besides complaining about your self-proclaimed oppression. If you don’t want to deal with dirty diapers, dirty faces, and dirty houses, keep your legs crossed and stay out of relationships with men. As for me and my husband, we will raise strong girls that stand up for themselves, their friends, and their values. With authenticity, grace, and kindness. Standing tall alongside their dad, male friends, and male bosses. Not behind as a victim, not in front as a “feminist”, but alongside them how God intended. That is our right and our choice.

Signed, a strong woman that doesn’t take shit from anyone,

Richelle

3 thoughts on “Signed, a strong woman that doesn’t take shit from anyone….

Leave a Reply

